Selecting "Shut down only" will simply shut down your system without rebooting it. After shutdown is complete, you will get a message telling you that it is safe to turn off the computer or to press Ctrl+Alt+Del to reboot.

If you have the "Power-off computer" setting enabled on the "&xshutdown;" page in the Desktop's properties notebook, the system's power will be switched off instead.