By shutting down your system all sensitive data in your system memory
will be permanently stored to disk before you can switch off your computer.
This also ensures that your Desktop will be properly saved.
Warning: It is absolutely necessary to always perform this procedure
before you switch off your computer. Never just flip the power switch on
your computer to turn it off because otherwise some of your data might not
be written properly to disk and be destroyed, or you might lose your Desktop.
To initiate shutdown, perform the following:
- Move the mouse over an empty area of the Desktop.
- Press mouse button 2 to open the Desktop's &popmenu;.
- Select "Shut down" from the menu.
Alternatively, press the "Shutdown" button on
the &xcenter;.
either the &xcenter;
or the &warpcenter;.
&xwp;'s Extended Shutdown (&xshutdown;) provides a few extra features
over &os2;'s regular shutdown procedure, such as automatically rebooting
your computer, APM power-off (if supported by your machine),
and being able to cancel the shutdown procedure.
If you have confirmations enabled on the "&xshutdown;" page in the Desktop's
properties notebook,
you will see the
&xshutdown; confirmation dialog
after initiating shutdown.
&xshutdown; can be enabled in the
"&xwp; Setup" object.
Note: By default, after initiating shutdown, &os2; will display a confirmation
message box whose content depends on what you have choosen in
"eStyler".
To enable this, open the &link_lookfdr; and then
"eStyler".
For related information, select from the list below: