Popup Menu
Use this option before deleting a handle that displays
Abstract objects in the "References" column. Otherwise, these
objects will be deleted along with the handle.
OS2.INI entry
that stores the size and position of folder windows and of WPS Properties notebooks.
It is always safe to delete these entries because they are not critical. At worst,
you will have to resize or reposition the window when you next open it.
for deletion.
The actual deletion won't happen until you choose either "Delete now.." from the
"Actions" menu or "Write back to OS2SYS.INI..." from the "xfix" menu.
If deleting a handle would cause other handles to become orphans
(invalid because you've deleted their parent's handle), the affected handles
will be marked
and the Status column will display
"Possible orphan". Unless you plan to delete the orphans, you should
definitely undelete the handle which caused this warning to appear.
Note: when a handle that is marked
invalid
or
orphaned is deleted, the count of invalid
or orphaned items in the status bar is decreased. For orphans, the error
description in the Status column is also removed.
from a
handle so it won't be deleted. If the handle was previously marked as
invalid or
orphaned, those icons will be restored and the error description will
reappear in the Status column.
so
it can't be deleted by accident. The handles for all of the folders on
the protected object's path are marked
so
they are safe from deletion as well. Attempts to delete any of these handles
will be ignored. If they are already marked
for deletion, they will be undeleted. Handles that are marked
invalid can not be protected.
Note: you can use "Auto-protect" on the "Actions" menu to automatically protect all of the most important handles. Doing so will prevent errors that could destroy your Desktop. See Menubar Commands for more details,
from the protected handle. The
assigned
to folders on the protected handle's path will also be removed if no
other protected handle relies on them.
Note: handles that are marked
can not
be unprotected directly. You must unprotect the handle that caused them
to become safe from deletion (the one marked
),
Since several protected handles may have a particular folder in their path,
you will have to unprotect all of them. You can use "Unprotect all" on the
"Actions" menu to remove protection from every handle.
Hot Keys
Unlike the corresponding menu items, these keyboard shortcuts toggle the setting: from off to on, and then back to off.
Delete key or Ctrl+D
Ctrl+P